Lemon Meringue cupcake; a tribute to my supporters!

Lemon Meringue cupcake; a tribute to my supporters!

Tartine & Maple

This post includes a recipe, yes, but it is above all, a tribute to my biggest supporter; Patricia.
The whole catering idea started back at the beginning of the year (or maybe longer in my dreams). It had been a while that my friends have been encouraging me to do something like that. I always cook, offer to bring a cake, invite people to share my kitchen try-out. Most of all, my dad is a caterer, and it was my first job and I really love, just like him, to make people happy with my cooking!
But I am also a mum of 2 young kids, and I have a house… plus, I live in Vancouver, if you do too, you know it’s not the cheapest in Canada… So I have a full time job and it is very hard for me to picture how I would survive without it. But the idea started to tickle me; maybe soon I could work part time, or not at all, and just cook! Just need my husband to work more. Haha…
Those days, with social media, it is easy to share with the world your talents and interests in something pretty much anything. I took advantage of it and created a Facebook page, talking about the food I make at home and offering to do it for anybody interested. I had a lot of very positive feedback which really thrilled me!
Patricia and I have worked for the same company about 4 years ago, and we remained friends through Facebook. She was from the get go my biggest supporter of all! She had never tried my food ever before, but was the first to offer me to cater officially for her ands her friends, people I did not know! This was huge! Not the same deal as bringing the dessert at my friend pot luck party!!!

Anyway, it was a baby shower (see the pics under the catering page), and the positive feedback was overwhelming!!! The attendees of the party started following my page, and wrote really nice notes… Patricia became really my own PR affiliate, posting pictures of my food, with amazing comments, and raving non stop on my wall! She also took a stack of my home made business cards to distribute! Whoa, that was really the time when I told myself; I could really just do that one day! People actually like it!
Then she called me back later to offer me to do another shower! Her friends are having babies one after another and I love it! Another success and more raving!!!
So, really, thank you Patricia and thank you to all your friends for being such good supporters! One day I’ll be famous (maybe not, but, hey why not) and I’ll invite you as a guest on my show for Special tribute!!! Gosh, I wish!!!

In the main time, as a tribute, I offer to share the recipe of the Lemon Meringue Cupcake. It’s easier than it looks, just need a few tools though…

Bon appétit et merci merci!!!!

Lemon Meringue Cupcake

This yield about 40 regular size cupcakes, so you can easily cut portion in half…

  • 3 & 1/2cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 & 3/4 cup (3 & 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 7 large eggs, room temperature
  • Finely grated zest of 3 lemons (about 3 tablespoons), plus 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 8 ounces cream cheese room temperature
  • Lemon Curd (see recipe on my Recipage)
  • Meringue Frosting (see recipe on my Recipage)
  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  • With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add cream cheese and beat until combine. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is until incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Beat in zest, lemon juice and vanilla. Add flour mixture in three batches and beating until just combined after each.
  • Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until golden brown and a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozen up to 2 months, in airtight containers.
  • To finish, spread 1 tablespoon lemon curd onto middle of each cupcake. You can dig a little hole on top of the cupcakes, if you want to insert some lemon curd in the cake.
  • Fill a pastry bag fitted with a large open-star tip with meringue frosting. Pipe frosting onto each cupcake, swirling tip slightly and releasing as you pull up to form a peak. Hold a small kitchen torch (or a small plumber torch from your hardware store will do the trick) 3 to 4 inches from surface of frosting, and wave it back and forth until frosting is lightly browned all over. Serve shortly after. Once frosted with the meringue, you can not keep the cupcake too long, as the meringue will start to melt within a few hours. Also do not refrigerate! it is recommended to put lemon curd and frosting last minute. Enjoy!

Print, save and send this recipe from my Recipage!

5 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue cupcake; a tribute to my supporters!

    • No kidding, she is an amazing girl! You can also do it without the meringue, it is probably the lengthiest part, but that’s 90% of the waou factor, right there! Thanks for your comment!

    • Thanks for the invit Alyssa, I did share on your showcase, great supporting idea! Can I ask you, how did you find out baout this post? I am new at blogging, and wondering where people that I don’t know me find my posts on the net… Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Creme brulee a la Julia Child, celebrating all food lovers! « Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

