Raspberry pistachio chicken salad, this berry has called my name…

Raspberry pistachio chicken salad

You probably don’t know yet, this blog is too recent… I am in LOVE with raspberries. I can eat anything with raspberries!!! My favourite fruit ever!

When we purchased our cute little house 5 years ago, it was a total call from the heart on my part… We blow the budget, because my heart couldn’t stop. That because of a few things: the kids room had a sky hand painted on the ceiling, it has moulding dating from the day it was built (back in 1930’s) and it has a garden with grown plants of … RASPBERRIES!!!!!

To my big surprise coming back from our french trip, the plants where covered in nice ripen ready to fall on your plate raspberries!!! Surprise, because the weather had been so crappy for this early summer, I didn’t expected to eat much coming from my backyards, I mean, you should see my herb garden, war zone of herbs, not the right ones though…

Anyway, there are so many of the beautiful berries, that I don’t know what to do with it anymore!!! (BTW, don’t be surprised if my 10 next posts are made with… raspberries). So I did a salad with it, yep, just like that, for the fun of it. I used to eat that wonderful strawberry salad in the pizzeria across my workplace, with candied pecans, goat cheese and chicken. It was my first experience in fruit in my salad, and I fell in love with it. So why not with raspberries?

Well, voilà!

Ingredients (for 2)

– 2 chicken breasts

– fresh raspberries

– young fresh spinach

– pistachios

– honey

– salt and pepper

For the dressing:

– 5 raspberries

– 3 tps of honey

– 1 tps of poppy seeds

– 1 tps of Dijon mustard

– 1 tbs of white wine vinegar

– 3 tbs of olive oil

Directions:

– Cook your chicken breast. Here, I marinated them 2 hours with lime juice and honey, and barbecued them.

– Roast your pistachios in a pan for about 5 min on medium, or until you start to smell the nutty smell. Shake them around often to avoid burning. Sprinkle some salt and pepper. Drizzle some honey on it while still on the stove, and shake them around, making sure they are all covered. Let it cook for just about 1 min, or until you can smell that caramel smell. Then transfer quickly the nuts on a cold plate. Don’t touch right away, the hot sugar would burn you!!! Let cool for 5 min, and separate the nuts with your fingers.

– Prepare the dressing by crushing the fresh raspberries, and mixing with the rest of the dressing ingredients.

– In 2 plates, toss the spinach with a bit of the dressing. Layer on it the cooked and sliced chicken, some fresh raspberries, caramelized pistachios and drizzle everything with more dressing. You can add feta cheese or crumbled fresh goat cheese, not done here, but probably amazing!!!

One thought on “Raspberry pistachio chicken salad, this berry has called my name…

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Tabouleh, best side to your BBQ! « Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

