Rainbow Jello * Happy Pride Vancouver!!!

Rainbow Jello

Happy Pride Vancouver!

This weekend, Vancouver is celebrating Pride, with their annual festivities, all crowned by the Pride Parade tomorrow. Needless to say, the city is wearing its colors!!!! Plus it is HOT this week-end!!! So what is a most appropriate dessert than a cooling Jello, all rainbow like??? I don’t know if you can pull better for the occasion, seriously. This dessert is stunning in colors, and high in flavors. Maybe, the only way you could make it interesting, is to replace some of the water with… Vodka??? Hey why not, it’s party time!

Well not this time, cauze my kids really wanted to eat some… Beside Pride, this is a perfect show off dessert for a kid’s birthday party, or any occasion!

It does take quite a while, that is fair to admit… But’s it is so worth it! It would take less time if you pour everything in one dish rather than little cups, like I did, and you can always do less colors. It’s good to have a side project that you can do in the kitchen while doing this. It’s not taking 4 hours of hard work, you just boil, stir, pour, rest 15 min and repeat… So you have plenty of time to do something else on the side.

Some use Cool Whip, yoghurt or sour cream instead of condensed milk, but this is what I had, and it worked great!

My cousin in law, Mrs. Taz, is making this dessert on occasions, and that’s how I discovered it, but I never managed to get the recipe from her…

Thanks to Cheryl, the “Food Slut” (hey, she choose her blog name, not me!!!) for her great post on how to do the Rainbow Jello. It was the easiest tutorial I found on line.

Show off your Pride colors people!!!!

Ingredients (yield 20 2 oz cups / or 1 square 9 inch pan)

  • 6 boxes of Jello, rainbow colors:
  • red: cherry
  • orange: orange
  • yellow: lemon
  • green: lime
  • blue: berry
  • purple: grape
  • 1 and 1/2 cans (12 oz) evaporated milk
  • water

Instructions

  • Add one packet of Jello to 1 cup of boiling water. Stir to dissolve completely. Pour 2/3 cup of the Jello into the prepared pan (or the glasses), and chill for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, add enough evaporated milk to the remaining Jello to make 2/3 cup. Stir to blend. When first layer has set for 15 minutes, carefully pour milk mixture over it, and chill for 15 minutes. Repeat with remaining colors. Once all layers have been poured, allow to chill for at least 2 hours if you want to unmold. Unmold onto a serving platter, cut into squares or shapes using cookie cutters, and serve. You can top it with Cool Whip, or whipped cream, and confettis!
  • Note from Cheryl, which is what I did as well: ” The way I did this was to mix up the next color as soon as I poured the first layer of the previous color. For example, as soon as I poured the first layer of yellow jello, I heated up water and mixed up the green jello. Once it was dissolved, I poured 2/3 cup of the green jello into another measuring cup, then stirred in the milk to the rest of it. You need three measuring cups to do it this way. That gives it some time to cool down a little before it’s time to pour it into the pan, but not so much time that it begins to set up too much to pour”

– Creme Brulee a la Julia Child

– Peanut Butter & Jam Popsicles

– Lavender Panna Cotta

I Heart Nap TimeLil\'LunaToo Much Time On My Hands

Updates post-publishing:

Aug 18th: This post was featured on the top 20 of The Sundae Scoop, from the beautiful blog:  I heart Nap Time!!!

Aug 28th: Post was featured on the top 6 of the Winthrop Chronicles!!!

Thank you for your support!!!

I Heart Nap Time

 

17 thoughts on “Rainbow Jello * Happy Pride Vancouver!!!

    • It’s really not a lot of work, but it takes a LONG time start to finish (took me 4 hours), that’s why it’s good to do something on the side (ie preparing other food for a party). And yes, the kids LOVE IT!!!

  1. Pingback: Sundae Scoop Top 20 - I Heart Nap Time

  2. Awesome! i AM TOTALLY DOING THIS FOR A KIDS PARTY-THEY WILL FLIP OVR IT!If you have a sec I would LOVE for you to share this at my linky-Get Schooled Saturday @ Too Much Time On My Hands-it is all weekend:)
    xxx
    Kim

  3. Pingback: Drunken Watermelon Slushy. Love, Music and hopefully sun!!!! « Tartine & Maple

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Cheerios Marshmallow Bars « Tartine & Maple

  5. Pingback: Salt dough: a great DIY father’s day gift! « Tartine & Maple

  6. Pingback: Rainbow Cake for birthday party!!! | Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

