Creme brulee a la Julia Child, celebrating all food lovers!

Crème brûlée a la Julia Child

Hello lovers!!!!

This is it, my big thank you to you, dear followers!!!

As mentioned in my previous post, last week, I miraculously jumped from 99 followers to 112!!!! Quite impressive, and I have to say, I feel the L.O.V.E!!!! I’m pretty sure that the Rainbow Jello post had a lot to do with that!!! I can see now that you like those kinds of food that are easy, lots of fun and have that whoa factor. So I’ll try my best to make more of those, promised!

Getting back to my thank you; Thank you for your support, your comments, your sharing etc… I began writing this blog just 3 months ago, and it has been a lot of fun. I’m assuming, if you are reading this, that you are a food lover. You know who else in the news was a BIG food lover? Julia Child!!! If you don’t know who Julia Child is, I would assume you haven’t turned on your TV or went out of your house those past couple of days…

Yesterday, August 15th, would have been Julia’s 100th birthday. Unfortunately not of this world anymore, but she will be forever present in the food stratosphere! Thanks to her, French cuisine has been revealed to all North America, been a good cook is accessible to anyone, and food shows are now a multi million dollar industry! Of course our food shows nowadays are not nearly as fun and awkward as Julia’s presentations, but she did open the door to all great chefs to get on the stage and show little at home chefs like you and me, that cooking doesn’t have to be complicated. Just throw yourself in it and have fun!

“This is my invariable advice to people: Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!”
― Julia ChildMy Life in France

One of many quotes, that I absolutely love from her! And as a cook, I can find myself represented in some of her most famous quotes:

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”

“The best way to execute French cooking is to get good and loaded and whack the hell out of a chicken. ”

“Everything in moderation… including moderation.”

… and many more (you can find some here )

But the one that suits best this post would have to be: “I think every woman should have a blowtorch.” I love this one, because it’s like she is telling women to be fearless in the kitchen just like that. I mean, have you ever used a blowtorch in the kitchen? I have been for a while, but let me tell you, the 1st few times, I was freaking scared!!! to : burn myself, burn others, burn my entire kitchen, and burn my food!!! It is a weapon!!! But she is right, with a blowtorch, you achieve some beautiful desserts such as meringue (refer to my post: Lemon Meringue cupcake) or this delicious Crème brûlée. Get one today, it is a must have in your kitchen! (and you can, eventually, use it for other things, crafts, repair your sink…)

There are many variations to Crème brûlée, but this is Julia Child’s. So I though, since every restaurants and foodies alike out there are paying tribute to Julia Child, it was appropriate to use her recipe:

Recipe:  Julia Child’s Creme Brulee

3 cups heavy cream
1 vanilla bean
6 large egg yolks
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
1/2 cup white granulated sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pour the cream into a stir in the vanilla bean and bring to a simmer. Remove from heat, cover the pan, and let steep for 30 minutes. Whisk the egg yolks and sugar in the mixing bowl until the yolks are thick, pale yellow, and form a fat, slowly dissolving ribbon when dropped from the whisk back into the bowl. Remove the vanilla bean from the hot cream.  Temper the yolks, by slowly stirring the warm milk into the yolks, until all the cream has been added and the mixture is well mixed.  Skim off any bubbles from the surface of the custard. Arrange  ramekins in a baking pan and ladle the custard into each, leaving 1/4 inch at the top for the glaze. Set the baking pan in the oven and pour in enough hot water to come halfway up the ramekins. Bake the custards for 30 – 35 minutes, until the tops are set but the custard in the center is still soft to the touch. Carefully remove the baking pan from the oven, and lift the ramekins from the hot water. Let them cool briefly, and then chill thoroughly in the refrigerator, covered with plastic wrap, until completely cold or over night.  Sprinkle a tablespoon or so of the remaining  sugar over each custard and smooth it gently with the back of a spoon, forming an even layer of sugar that completely covers the surface.  Using a cooking torch (or a plumber’s torch, that’s what I do), melt the sugar until it starts to caramelize.  Serve.  Eat.

Bonus link: Please check out this video of Julia Child, definitely one of my favorite!!!! As usual, she is not afraid of making a fool of herself, because she is herself! And you can see her using an actual blowtorch!!! Priceless!!! On Youtube

I prefer to use white granulated sugar instead of light brown sugar like most recipes are calling for, to do the top caramelized crust. That was a trick from my dad. As a caterer, he had this dessert on his menu for the longest time, and using white sugar makes the crust hard and glossy, forming like a beautiful caramelized shield, that you take pleasure to tap and crack!!! HUMMMM, this is the best part! I also use a plumber’s torch instead of cooking torch (other tip from dad), it’s cheaper, last longer, and works just as great!

So like Julia would say:

“Bon A Petiet!”

 

You might also like:

Lemon Meringue cupcake

Lavender Panna Cotta! 

sumo's Sweet StuffI Heart Nap Time

Crazy for Crust

Update August 22nd 2012:

This post was featured in the top 16 (out of 300+) best posts on Friday Features, on this amazing DYI and recipe sharing blog: WhipperBerry. Thank you so much for your support Heather, and thank you all for your interest!!!

Love xoxo

Tartine

5 thoughts on “Creme brulee a la Julia Child, celebrating all food lovers!

    • You’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by! It’s really easy to do creme brulee, but necessary to have a blowtorch, in my opinion. Some do it with their oven broiler, it’s just not the same 😉

  1. Pingback: Little cabbage flower « whitehothair

  2. Pingback: Ham and Cheese Soufflé, with foolproof tips! « Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

