Pickled Cucumbers a la French!!! (“Cornichon” kind)

Pickled Cucumbers

It’s done! I thought it would happen this year, but yeah! Pickling cukes is something I try to do every summer, because I do it the french way, wich is quite different from the regular american pickles.
Those of you that have travelled to France might be familiar with “cornichons“, or gherkins, which are really the replacement to your pickles. They go in sandwiches, salad, accompany your toast of cheese and deli meat. But they are way smaller than the american cukes,
and prepared differently. Therefore I always pick the smallest ones here. We just cover them with salt overnight and store them in vinegar with tarragon and pepper.
Anyway I realize this week that the season for cukes is coming to an end, and I work everyday, farms would be closed when I get off, weekend not here!!!! Panic! Thankfully my friend E. Was able to get some for me on Friday. So after work, pickling time started, and needed to be other before we leave for the weekend! Totally manageable, pickling cukes really doesn’t require special skills, just a couple of hours, vinegar, salt, herbs and jars!
Want to give it a try? Hurry! Season is almost over!
Happy pickling!

Ingredients (about 10 lbs)

  • For 10 lbs of cukes
  • 1 gallon natural white vinegar
  • 2 lbs kosher salt
  • 2 garlic bulbs
  • 1 fresh bunch of Tarragon
  • Mustard seeds
  • Whole pepper corns assorted: black, white, pink

Instructions

  • Clean the cukes by wiping them with a clean cloth, do not wash with water.
  • Set up a grill over a large container or sink. Cover the grill with a clean cloth so salt will not fall through. Place one flat layer of cukes. Cover almost completely with salt. Place another layer of cukes and salt as needed. Leave as is overnight. Do not leave in salt more than 10 to 12 hours, or they will get too soft

  • Clean enough jars and lids. I soak them overnight in hot water with a cup of white vinegar to remove any smell. In the morning, scrub, rinse and dry.Remove as much excess salt from the cukes as possible by wiping them with a clean cloth. Place the cukes in the jar, vertically will save space and will be easily accessible. Leave a bit of room as they will absorb vinegar and get bigger. Then add a few peeled garlic cloves, tarragon, 10 to 30 pepper corns depending on the size of your jar, and 1 to 3 teaspoon of mustard seed. Fill jars with vinegar, leaving an each from the top. Close jars and Store in a cool and dark place.
  • Wait about a month to enjoy!

Find the easy to print, share, e-mail recipe on my Recipage.

Linkies:

The Winthrop ChroniclesChef in TrainingLove Bake Good CakesNap Time CreationsMandy’s Recipe BoxReasons to Skip the HouseworkFunky Polkadot GiraffeSugar Bee CraftsNot just a housewife33 Shades of GreenMichelle’s tasty CreationsBloom DesignsDJ Sugar ShackLil’LunaSomething SwankyWhat’s Cooking LoveFoodie Friends FridayWhipperberryNot Your Ordinary RecipesBacon Time with the Hungry HippoRattlebridge FarmLittle Becky HomeckyI Heart Nap TimeAddicted to RecipesThis Chick Cooks

9 thoughts on “Pickled Cucumbers a la French!!! (“Cornichon” kind)

  1. The best pickles I have ever consumed were Tartine’s, I fondly recall sittingsat and slowly devouring a whole jar one lovely Canadian afternoon. Since then I was inspired to try pickles (last summer), it was successful and easy, even for a very busy city girl! Merci for sharing your recipe with the world…now there will be lots more pickles for me to eat, ma cher!

  2. I love cornichons ! But they are so expensive here, in DC. So I want to pickle my own next summer. Thanks for the recipe and details. I’ll check back to let you know how my pickling experiment goes. Wish me luck !

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

