Lavender French Toasts. “Pain Perdu a la Lavande”

Lavender French Toasts

I’m back!!!!!!!!!!

OMG, I’m sorry it took so long for me to post again, but the last 2 weeks have been I.N.S.A.N.E!!!! Not only my son started full-time kindergarden, but I also have twice the work to do at my current job (yes, I do have a real full-time job…), since one of my associate left… hugh!!!

1st day of school in pics!!!

Anyway, while the job part is not getting better yet, the school part is. My son is just loving school, and I am so glad we made the choice to place him a French school! He is already coming back with new words and sentences everyday!!! On the flip side, I’m under pressure to speak french only at home. How hard could it be when you’re a born french? It is super hard when you work full-time in english, your husband speaks english, and your youngest is in an english daycare!!! Not that easy to turn on & off the french switch! But my son’s progress really motivates me!

So speaking french, here is what we cooked last week-end: Lavender French Toasts! HUUMMMMM!!! So flavorful! with a hint of rose water, it’s a nice end-of-summer touch to your late breakfast! It must be a girlie dish though, only me and my daughter loved it!

Did you know that in France, French toast is called pain perdu, which means “lost bread”. It is called “lost bread” because it is a way to reclaim stale or “lost” bread. The hard bread is softened by dipping in a mixture of milk and eggs, and then fried. Make sense, right? Where I come from, we usually use brioche for the recipe, as it is a richer and sweeter type of bread. Since the base of brioche is alrady egg and butter, it really adds to the whole comforting taste of french toast!

If using fresh brioche, let it stale for a few days, or dry the bread in an oven at just 100F until hard, but not toasted. If you want the lavender taste, prepare your milk at least an hour before. Or, alternatively, use lavender flavoring.

Bon apetit, and happy back to school madness to all parents out there 🙂

Ingredients (2 (4 slices))

  • 4 brioche slices
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 t dried lavender buds
  • 2 t honey
  • 1/2 t rose water
  • 2 T butter
  • icing sugar for dusting

Instructions

  • Heat the milk with lavender in a saucepan until milk is shimmering. Let sit for an hour. Then pass the milk through a sieve. Disregard the lavender buds.
  • Beat together egg, milk, honey and rose water. Pour in a dish where you can fit all the brioche slices side by side.
  • Dunk each slice of bread in egg mixture, soaking both sides. Leave it to soak until the brioche is soft all over, but not falling apart!
  • Heat a pan over medium-low and add half the butter.
  • Place 2 slices in pan, and cook on both sides until golden. Repeat with other 2 slices.
  • Dust with icing sugar. Serve hot with a side of berry jam.

For the easy to share, print and e-mail recipe, visit my Recipage.

You may also like:

Lavender Panna Cotta

Raspberry & Rosemary Sherbet

Blueberry Almond Tart

Linked to those parties:

Tatertots & JelloSix Sisters’ StuffBe different… Act NormalSweet as Sugar CookiesCrumbs & ChaosGingerbreadTutus & Tea PartiesToo Much Time On My HandA Crafty CookCherished TreasuresI Heart Nap TimeAddicted to Recipes, Just Winging ItThe Foley FamSumo’s Sweet StuffCraft O ManiacWatch out MarthaSkip to my LouThe Winthrop ChroniclesLove Bake Good CakesBack 4 SecondNap Time CreationsMandy’s Recipe BoxChef in TrainingCrazy for CrustLil’LunaDJ Sugar Shack

Update post publishing:

September 21st, Lavender French Toasts was featured on Scrumptious Sunday party of the addictive blog: Addicted to Recipes!!! Thank you!!!

I was featured, I was Featured by Addicted to Recipes

13 thoughts on “Lavender French Toasts. “Pain Perdu a la Lavande”

  1. Pingback: Peach Crumble and Lavender Ice Cream « Tartine & Maple

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Use for Day Old Bread | Brooklyn Locavore

  3. Pingback: Easy & Fast One Bowl Waffles! You need this for your busy entertaining week-end! « Tartine & Maple

  4. Pingback: La Chandeleur – French Crepes Day « Tartine & Maple

  5. Pingback: Ham and Cheese Soufflé, with foolproof tips! « Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

