Hello Kitty Cake for my sweet Baby’s BD

Hello Kitty Cake

Here she is, 3 years old already! Hard to believe, my sweet baby is growing so fast! I have been wanted for ever to bake Hello Kitty stuff, because:

1) My daughter loves the Kitty

2) It’s really cute and totally suits a little girl’s BD theme

3) it’s a pretty easy design, and mostly white = not too hard for a beginner decorator

4) There are tones of ideas on the internet!!!

So here, it’s done! And really, it was not that hard at all! Trust me, I’m a good baker, but I really have no experience in decorating! Just found a picture on the net and cut out some fondant (which I also used for the 1st time…). No crazy piping, shapes and gimmick, just a nice cake, some white fondant and food coloring, and you can do it too! Here is how:

First of all bake your cake. I used the yellow buttermilk cupcake recipe from Martha Stewart, divided by 2, that’s enough for my small cake. BTW, I love that recipe, and use it often for cupcakes and cakes, it’s so versatile and moist! When the batter is done, I divided it in 2 and colored each with different food coloring, pour in a round 9″ pan, and cook for about 25 min at 350.

After cooked and cooled, I slice the rounded top of each cake to make them even and flat.

Then I prepared a vanilla buttercream frosting, got the recipe from Paula Deen. I used only 6 out of the 8 cups of confectioner’s sugar (I know, 8 cups, really!!!)  and a little less milk, and it was still too sweet for me and husband, but the kids loved it! and added a bit of pink food coloring.

Then frost your cake! First, one layer between the 2 cakes,

Then cover the whole thing!

Print 2 sets of Hello Kitty face, like this one: Kitty. One, cut it all around, you will use that as your template to cut the fondant for the whole face. The other, I did cut out the bow and used it as a template to cut a bow out of fondant. Then I carved out the eyes and whiskers to use that as a guide for coloring those with an edible black marker. That was super easy by the way, I love that marker!

After cutting out the bow, I colored it with a brush and red liquid food coloring. Let the coloring dry, and do the finishing touches with the black marker. Did the same for the nose, with yellow.

Using my cut-out template, I cut the kitty face in rolled-out white fondant, by following all around with a small sharp knife. Then colored the whiskers and eyes with the black marker.

And “voila”!!! Cool huh! If you want to secure the bow and nose, just place a bit of honey of something sticky underneath before placing on the face. Then you can slide the whole thing on the cake!

Note that if the fondant is slightly bigger than your cake, the fondant will get soft and fold over the side after a while. I realized that the next day, after I stored it overnight in the fridge…

Now, just enjoy the smiles!!!

Check out also my Hello Kitty Cake Pops!

Hello Kitty Cake Pops - Tartine & Maple

Joyeux anniversaire ma princesse!!!!

XOXO

You may also like:

Kitty Cake Pop How to

Hello Kitty Cake Pops

Shared on those parties:

Too Much Time On My HandGingerbreadSix Sisters’ StuffBe different… Act NormalI Heart Nap TimeAddicted to RecipesThe Foley FamCraft O ManiacSumo’s Sweet StuffSkip to my LouWatch out MarthaFlour me With LoveThe Winthrop ChroniclesLove Bake Good CakesNap Time CreationsMandy’s Recipe BoxChef in TrainingReasons to Skip the HouseworkFunky Polkadot GiraffeCrazy for Crust33 Shades of GreenLil’LunaDJ Sugar ShackLady Behind the CurtainA Little NoshSomething SwankyMichelle’s Tasty CreationsFive Little ChefsWhat’s Cooking LoveBloom DesignsThe Real Housewives of Riverton

20 thoughts on “Hello Kitty Cake for my sweet Baby’s BD

    • Hello Katie! Sorry I just saw your comment, it ended in my spam! But I did share on your party! Thanks for stopping by, I love your blog! Follow me, as I will be posting about French food for sure 🙂

  1. Wow! My daughter would LOVE this cake. I can’t wait to try your cake recipe. Sounds delicious. Thanks so much for linking up to Creative Thursday. Can’t wait to see what you share this week! Have a wonderful week.
    Michelle

  2. Pingback: My Birthday Party – Young At Heart « Butterflies and Bunny Rabbits

  3. Pingback: What happened to Tartine? Is she in the jam? « Tartine & Maple

  4. Pingback: Cake pop, the experience!!! « Tartine & Maple

  5. Pingback: Salt dough: a great DIY father’s day gift! « Tartine & Maple

  6. Pingback: Rainbow Cake for birthday party!!! | Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

