Honey Peanut Veggies Stir Fry – It’s peanut butter day!!!

Honey Peanut Veggies Stir Fry

Honey Peanut Veggies Stir Fry - Tartine & Maple

So today is peanut butter day!!! yep, that’s right! I discovered recently that there is a food “holiday” almost every day! Yesterday was pie, tomorrow is Irish Coffee (why didn’t it fall on a week-end…), and today is peanut butter!

I mean we could talk all day about or favorite things made with PB, or how we just like to eat it out the jar. But here a few things to know about PB:

– It was used hundreds years ago by the Aztec Native Americans

– On the healthy side, Peanut butter (and peanuts) provides protein, vitamins B3 and E,magnesiumfolatedietary fiberarginine,[7] and high levels of the antioxidant p-coumaric acid.

– BUT, Some brands of peanut butter may contain a small amount of added partially hydrogenated vegetable oils, which are high in trans fatty acids that are thought to be a cause of atherosclerosiscoronary heart disease, and stroke. So go with Natural PB!!! I made the switch a year ago, and I love it!!!

Of course there are tons, I mean loads of baking recipes with PB, but it is also very tasty in savory dishes! In my recent search for new veggie recipes, I came across this one from Carrie On Vegan. Of course I didn’t follow it to the T, but just not even thinking about what I was doing, I ended up with a very tasty veggie stir fry! Even hubb and the kids devoured it!! WIN!

Everyone enjoys PB day!!!

Everyone enjoys PB day!!!

There are no real measurement there, because I didn’t intended to make this recipe for the blog, and as any stir-fry, it’s open to your own creativity!

So in my stir fry, I had:

1/4 onion sliced

2 celery stalks

about 1 cup of shredded white cabbage

1 carrot, sliced

a few broccoli florets

3 big kale leaves, chopped

For the sauce:

1 tbsp natural PB

1 Tbsp honey

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 Tbsp soy sauce

pepper

In a wok or large pan, star your stir fry: preheat with a tsp of oil, then add veggies in the order listed. Cover with a lid for a few minutes to steam the veggies.

In a bowl, add the ingredients for the sauce, put in the microwave for 30 sec to soften the PB and honey and stir. Add to the stir fry and blend well. Cook for another 2 min and serve! Add some Tabasco for an extra kick!

Could work very well with a beef or chicken stir fry, and served with plain rice.

Enjoy Your PB night!

That's me enjoying my PB night...

That’s me enjoying my PB night…

XOXO

Tartine

Related post:

Peanut Butter & Jam Popsicles: a treat that’s good for you… and the kids

2 thoughts on “Honey Peanut Veggies Stir Fry – It’s peanut butter day!!!

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

