Sugar Free, Butter Free Peanut Butter Muffins. Am I Paleo yet?

Sugar Free, Butter Free Peanut Butter Muffins

,

Sugar Free, Butter Free Muffins - Tartine & Maple

Hello all! Before we get started, let me tell you a bit about my recent search and interest; the Paleo diet. Wasat? Well, it’s definitely a bit confusing… Paleo comes from the work: Paleolithic, AKA; cavemen time, like million years ago. OK, so what’s the diet? Self hunted raw meat? HAHA, yeah, well no, that’s where it gets complicated… I put a few pieces of web definition together to resume it as best as possible, so here it goes:

Centered on commonly available modern foods, the “contemporary” Paleolithic diet consists mainly of fish, grass-fed pasture raised meats, vegetables, fruit, fungi, roots, and nuts, and excludes grains, legumesdairy products, potatoes, refined salt, refined sugar, and processed oils

Toxic foods include:

  • Grains (wheat, rye, barley, oats, brown rice, …)
  • Legumes (soy beans, peanuts, chickpeas, kidney beans, …)
  • Vegetable seed oils (soybean oil, peanut oil, corn oil, canola oil, …)
  • Added sugar (sodas, candies, cakes, fruit juices, …). Some sugar from natural sources like fruits is perfectly fine.
  • Sources of dairy high in protein (casein) and sugar (lactose) and low in healthy butter-fat.

A focus should be placed on eating a variety of foods that are high in vitamins and minerals. These include:

  • Organ meats (liver, kidney, bone marrow, heart, brain, …)
  • Leafy green vegetables (spinach, kale, swiss chard, arugula, …)
  • Meat from grass-fed ruminants (beef, bison, lamb, …)
  • Mollusks and other seafood (oysters, mussels, wild salmon, sardines, …)
  • Egg yolks;
  • Bone broth;
  • Fermented foods (sauerkraut, kimchi, …);

Got it? Confusing a bit, no? 1st of all, why avoiding grains and legumes? Not sure… Why the meat as to be “grass feed ruminants”? Because it’s a caveman diet? OK, well did cavemen really cooked fermented food or delicious cake with coconut milk and baking soda??? That’s where I got lost…

Anyhow, the reason why I got interested in this diet, is that 1st of all, when you start to search for healthy recipes, like no sugar cake, or healthy snacks recipe, it seems like the Paleo tag is on everything healthy out there! I mean, where have I been lately? Where those Paleo modern cavemen cooks hided before? It seems like like it’s been the crave for a while, and I totally missed the boat!

Wait a second, I am not becoming Paleo, nonono, huhum, like mentioned before, no will power, therefore, no such restrictions for me! I love grains, legumes, dairy, non-grass-feed-ruminants meat! But I have to admit, I am following at least 5 Paleo bloggers now!

What really interest me is their approach of cooking with alternatives, like no refined sugar, and instead, for example using pureed dates, that’s a great idea! dates are so sweet and nutritious! Or replace butter with coconut oil. I am not sure how coconut oil is so good for you, seeing all the (good) cholesterol that it contains, but I love it! Been using it everywhere lately! Or alternative flours like nut flours; coconut, almond, mashed nuts… oh, and by the way, in Paleo world, peanut is not a nut, just so you know…. HUH? Oh well, it ends in “nut” still a nut to me!

Aren’t you learning a lot today??? Well I did over the past week, and decided to apply some out of this age cooking tips to my healthier baking!

SUCCESS! It was really, really good for a healthy muffin! Oh, I forgot the disclaimer: “healthy doesn’t always mean low calories”, there, that’s done. After all, there is peanut butter, coco oil, dates, whole flour; it is a hearty muffin, but the ingredients, are good for you little inside! I passed the kids AND the coworkers (who have access to fresh amazing pastries from our 4 stars kitchen) test! HOORAY!

Someone is going for more!!! WIN!

Someone is going for more!!! WIN!

But it is NOT a Paleo recipe, just Paleo inspired. I got the base recipe from here, and changed it to the follow (you can go with the alternative options to fit what’s in your pantry, healthiness not guaranteed ;)):

Ingredients (about 10 muffins)

  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup buckwheat flour- (or do all white, all whole wheat… just have 1 cup of flour)
  • 1/4 cup powdered Stevia (or 1/4 cup sugar or honey or maple syrup)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 10 dates (or 1/4 cup brown sugar)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil (or 2 Tbsp butter or other oil)
  • 1/2 cup milk (or nut milk)
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 ripen banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • Chocolate chips/chopped nuts (optionnal)

Directions

Preheat oven at 350.

In a big bowl, blend the 3 flours, Stevia, baking soda and salt. Set aside,

In a saucepan, warm up the coco oil, milk, PB and vanilla. If your dates are a bit hard, or your blender/food processor not too powerful, you might want to soak the dates in the warm milk for a bit…

In a food processor or blender, process the dates until forming a paste. Add a little bit of the warm milk mixture if too sticky. Add the sliced banana, egg, maple syrup and water and process. Them add the warm oil/milk/PB mixture and process more. Make sure the mixture is not hot before pouring, just warm enough so that it is of a liquid consistency.

Add gradually the wet mixture to the flour mixture and blend until smooth. Add the chocolate chips/nuts if wanted.

Pour in cupcake paper liner or lightly greased muffin pan, just 2/3 full. Cook for about 20 min.

Enjoy!

XOXO – Tartine

Some nice Paleo recipes web-site and blogs:

http://paleospirit.com/

http://livinghealthywithchocolate.com/

http://simplylivinghealthy.org/

http://everydaypaleo.com/

You might also like:

Banana Bread Muffins: low fat, low sugar, no guilt!!!

Peanut Butter & Jam Popsicles: a treat that’s good for you… and the kids

Pecan Pie recipe with no syrup, no shortening: A southern style anniversary!

9 thoughts on “Sugar Free, Butter Free Peanut Butter Muffins. Am I Paleo yet?

  1. That’s great you’re dabbling in Paleo-friendly ideas/foods. I just did a Paleo challenge in January and now I’m transitioning to make it 75-80% of my daily life. It’s been an eye-opening experience and definitely hard at times but overall I feel great. I’d love to hear more about your experiences. 🙂

    • Thanks Leah! I really like the idea of not using process food, and for that, I will pick some paleo recipe mostly fit baking… But for me, I just now I can’t follow such a diet! I like everything!!!!

  2. Pingback: The cabbage soup diet, 3 days in! « Tartine & Maple

  3. Pingback: The cabbage soup diet: the wrap up! « Tartine & Maple

  4. Pingback: Best Ever Banana Bread to celebrate its day! | Tartine & Maple

  5. thanks for the recipe!! I have also started to think this life style is for me, ahh grains make me so sick =( there are alot of good reasons why Paleo is a good idea, but the downside is the cost =( and my daughter is vegan..lol pretty hard to live on those restrictions!! I am doing some more research, but maybe a paleo friendly diet is a good start!!

  6. Pingback: Sugar Free, Butter Free Peanut Butter Muffins. Am I Paleo yet? | Crazy Crunchy Mommy

  7. Pingback: Boeuf Bourguignon and the 50th post! | Tartine & Maple

Leave your comment, I would love to hear from you!

